Christ the King Catholic School has a rich heritage, with its roots dating back to 1875. In September of that year, four Sisters of Loretto opened a parochial school in Earlington. At that time, they used the Immaculate Conception Church as a schoolroom. In 1882, a rich benefactor, Bernard Farren, built the first school building. Over the next century, the school was housed in various buildings.
In August 1975, the parish of Christ the King Catholic Church decided to build a new parochial school to serve the communities of Madisonville and Earlington. After two years of planning and construction, the new school opened in January 1978.